Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

The hunt is on!

dvn12345

Trainee
Hi all,

As mentioned in the Newbie thread, i'm new to this and looking to buy my first 911.

I've decided on a manual 997 coupe 'S' and am torn between C4s and C2s. I LOVE the widebody of the C4s but decent examples are seemingly pretty hard to find; esp manual ones with IMS/rebuilds done. Due to this i'm not completely ruling out a C2s as it won't be my daily driver, so I can pick dry days for it. Can anyone recommend any decent links/videos to compare the 2 side by side? My main concern is the fat rear on the C4s is to die for and also my ability to not stoof in, in a C2S!

Also, with regard to engine issues on the Gen 1 997s, if a car has had a recent boroscope and come up clear, is this good enough to go on, or do i really need to focus on buying one that's been rebuilt/factor in a rebuild?

My budget is around £30K, but could press to £35K if it looks sexy enough to convince my wife (who I am keeping topped up on white wine throughout this entire process)

Thanks in advance :)

The 4 will give you a bit of extra confidence in damp/wet conditions but unless you're trying very hard you won't notice much difference in normal road driving.

The wide body is great to behold but is actually less noticeable on the Gen1 without the red bumstripe. The 2 is pretty shapely in any case.

If you find a later model with the revised IMS bearing and have the car PPI'd and borescoped by someone who knows the marque there's not much more you can do too mitigate the risk.