Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

LSD

ReDBull

Silverstone
Recently the clutch has failed on my 98 3.4 C2. I've decided that I will be fitting a SMF and uprated clutch. Later in the year (for peace of mind) I'm hoping to have the engine rebuild as I'm over the 100k miles barrier.
I'm just wondering if I should take the plunge and fit a LSD while the gearbox is out? I've spoken to Ben at Rennspeed who is working on my car. He said the car would have much better traction but would be more of a handful.
I've had LSD fitted to FWD cars and loved them. But I have no experience on RWD cars.
What are people's thoughts and experiences?

It's not quite the same justification though, an LSD on the front helps prevent torque steer, and also helps put the power down through a set of tyres also responsible for steering.

RWD doesn't care about either of those.

It does care about putting maximum power down/traction, but have you felt one or other side of your RWD spinning up and losing traction in normal (your) usage?*

Are you tracking the car?

*My first check on frequent power-bleed, particularly if biased to one side, during normal usage would be shocks before LSD

You don't need your gearbox off to do the diff. Can be easily done in situ. Don't think you can fit an LSD on the 996.1 as the abs/traction system isn't programmed to handle it. I'd be checking up on that 1st.

M220 40% LSD can be applied to an Non-PSM car.

That's actually most 996 (excludes AWD models)

All 996.1 C2s are Non-PSM as standard

So OP......if you have no PSM you're good to go :thumb: