Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Custom wheel specs - 996.1 C2

reds12

Hello all,

Appreciate this has been done to death but any recent thoughts or insights would be greatly received. I am not an expert in this so seems dangerous to proceed without putting it out to the masses first! Story goes: I am conversing with a company who can make custom sized wheels.

The suggestion I have had from them for specs is as follows (believe based on a gen2 car):
F: 18" 8J ET41 (presume 225/40 or wider?)
R: 18" 11J ET59 (presume 295/30?)

Current Spec:
Car = 996.1 C2 Bilstein B8 & H&R 30mm springs, X74 setup (no aerokit, rear arches not rolled)
F: 7J 205/50/17 ET55
R: 9J 255/40/17 ET55

I don't really want to go to 11s on the rear (don't need more grip!) so a 8/10 combination seems like a good compromise? I don't want to over-tyre, and I am reluctant to move away from 17s but 18 seems like a better choice for tyres, etc. I'm not tracking the car and wish to retain a 'fast road' X74 type setup. Arches can be rolled if necessary but I suppose I am trying to avoid that unless convinced otherwise.

This leads me to what I'm currently thinking:

F: 8J ET41 225/40/18
R: 10J ET50 265/35/18

Does that sound at all sensible/plausible/worth doing? I'd simply buy some LMs if I could a) find some b) afford them(!)

I am drawing on inspiration from others and how the car feels currently, which is great but I hate the look of my wheels (std C4 17s), one quite bent, and they tuck a great deal. Like I say, I'm not an expert so any view is appreciated - if this is a horrible idea it's fine to say so!