Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

997,1 GT3 LSD refurb/upgrade options

Cheburator said:
Cunno and diggermeister,

I am not good at multi quoting... but here are my 2c...

Opening the diff on our cars is very easy (relatively speaking) as you don't need to remove driveshafts from the car. Once they are down from the diff output flanges, you can remove the former. Since you aren't changing bearings, as long as you keep the shims as you found them, there should be no changes to the backlash of the diff. Once the flanges are off, then you can remove the diff covers, once they are off, the LSD casette with the crown wheel can be removed. Splitting it open isn't difficult and then you can inspect the plates. Having a good bearing puller is helpful, but not essential.

if you are rebuilding, having a precise vernier depth gauge and basic maths skills is all that you need. All torque values are in the WSM. The beauty of the 996/7 transaxle is that it's old school. It is designed to be rebuildable, or that ratios/LSD can be swapped in the field. Hence it allows even oiks like me to have a play...

As for the ramp angles - both of you are spot on. 996.1 and 2 have 40/60 diffs, while 997.1 and 2 are much weaker at 28/40, expecting the ABS and rear brake calipers to do much of the work... we know how that worked out in real world...
Well that's way beyond my skill set, brave man than me and clearly are a lot more hands on than me. Be good to see a how to guide for jobs like these