Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Sports Plus mode, pdk not upshifting

md11fly

Newbie here. I bought my 991.1 C4S three months ago, and have rarely used Sports Plus mode - I realise it's best for track use - but on the few occasions I have 'experimented' the pdk gearbox is reluctant to change up unless or until it hits c.7,500rpm, meaning I'm still in second gear at illegal motorway speeds. Of course I can override it with the paddles, or switching to manual mode, but just wondered if this is normal behaviour for Sports Plus mode?

md11fly said:
Newbie here. I bought my 991.1 C4S three months ago, and have rarely used Sports Plus mode - I realise it's best for track use - but on the few occasions I have 'experimented' the pdk gearbox is reluctant to change up unless or until it hits c.7,500rpm, meaning I'm still in second gear at illegal motorway speeds. Of course I can override it with the paddles, or switching to manual mode, but just wondered if this is normal behaviour for Sports Plus mode?

:welcome:

That's expected Sports Plus / PDK behaviour and exactly what you want on track!

Personally, I keep it in Sports mode for fast road use :thumb:

md11fly said:

As @TonyC911 said, the car is not second guessing you anymore in that mode it's essentially saying. "you told me you know what you're doing so have at it" :)

Totally pointless in almost any normal road situation in my opinion!

Cheers
Spart