Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Rennline gearknob

Tycho

Nurburgring
My marble grey gearknob is looking increasingly untidy despite regular cleaning. I was thinking about a new leather gaiter then saw the Rennline 917 style shifter. Has anyone fitted one of these or their other aluminium unit?

I have no experience of the Rennline ones but I would strongly recommend the WC Lathewerks gear knob and shaft (https://www.lathewerks.com/porsche-911-rl-style-spheres-shiftknob.html)

He's quite busy so there can be a wait, but he can make them in any material you like. Also £200 all in isn't bad compared to others.

Also worth getting in touch with @builtbybasil on instagram who has just finished prototyping a shaft to go along with his wooden gear knobs.

WC Lathewerks knob and shaft in my car:

Attachments

• img_0477_1_181.jpeg
    img_0477_1_181.jpeg
    22.3 KB · Views: 3,859
Now you have got me thinking. I still like the Rennline layered design but would prefer to have the shift pattern (engraved) on top which they do not seem to do.
More to ponder.

Gwsinc said:
I have no experience of the Rennline ones but I would strongly recommend the WC Lathewerks gear knob and shaft (https://www.lathewerks.com/porsche-911-rl-style-spheres-shiftknob.html)

He's quite busy so there can be a wait, but he can make them in any material you like. Also £200 all in isn't bad compared to others.

Also worth getting in touch with @builtbybasil on instagram who has just finished prototyping a shaft to go along with his wooden gear knobs.

WC Lathewerks knob and shaft in my car: