Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Novice Projects - attempting alloy wheel refurb

DJ911

Silverstone
Thought I'd post my travails at refurbing the alloy wheels (front axle) on my C4S. It's been a little trial by error and I've learned a few things as I've gone along. Any other tips would be great to hear before I attempt my rear wheels! As above, I am a bit of a novice but not afraid to give things a go.

As hard as I try, I'd accidentally curbed the alloys a couple of times (normally on ridiculously high and harsh surfaces as otherwise my overhanging tyres normally save me). Had scraped the edges leaving a rough surface.

These are the products I got from Amazon. The putty seems pretty solid (pun intended) and the metallic silver spray is an excellent match. I also bought some spray on lacquer to finish up.

51312927770_e304bd0dbf_c.jpg

51312927850_874538608e_c.jpg

I tried to thoroughly clean each wheel first, removing any residue from the alloy surface. It's amazing how stubborn the staining is inside the wheel, anyone have any hardcore products they can recommend for this? I guess that's one of the benefits of powder coating as the whole wheel is dipped in and comes out like new.

51312927945_ec03edb74d_c.jpg

Having removed the wheels (a must), I sanded down the rough curbed areas and then taped up the wheels.

51311181167_44ef83bcaa_c.jpg