Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

huntert

Silverstone
Hi guys, newbie here saying hello. Last month i was offshore on an oil rig and decided to buy a Range Rover sport 4.2 super charged of the internet without seeing it. I got home and handed over my 17k and drove it home (Nottingham). I tottled around in it and averaged 11mpg. I then drove it to Aberdeen and managed to get nearly 19mpg on the journey by driving like miss Daisy. Now i diddnt mind the fuel consumption and the car never missed a beat...but it just diddnt feel special. So iv sat at my PC offshore again and arranged a PX and put down a deposit on a 2006 Cayman S with 50k miles on it. Again i have done this without physically seeing the car...in general what are they like to drive ect. I had a Boxster S at one time but my fav car was my TVR Tamora which i miss..will the Cayman make me smile like the TVR without the worry of it falling to bits?

Hello huntert

that sounds like a thirsty, even for a high performance car. you wouldnt want to go to scotland and back for a weekend.

I have had a 996 albeit a tiptronic, which was a really great everyday driver.
I am selling this and I just bought 3 weeks ago a Cayman 3.4s 33k miles manual and Im really impressed with it. As its a manual it is a bit difficult to get a true comparison between the 996 and Cayman but I'm finding it a really good car that's a pleasure to drive, especially on the b roads and motorway. It's not too frugal with the fuel, circa 20 mpg in London village and high 20s on the Mway but still a great daily driver.