Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

New to tuning the 996 Turbo

N44APA

Hi folks,

So I've bought a Kline exhaust and air filter, I'm looking to buy a pair of intercoolers and then have it mapped.

Firstly which intercoolers can people recommend?

Do I need an uprated Map sensor?

And which diverter valves shall I get?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm new to this with the porsche, so with the above mods what bhp/torque figures am I looing at? My car is a 51 plate manual 420bhp car.

Many thanks.

Alex

Honestly good exhaust + remap alone will transform the car a lot. Depending on what you want power wise Bigger i/c are to be use when you start to tune much more ( bigger turbos , improve intake ....). Concerning DV's you can stick with the Bosch 710 , they are good and not expensive and maintenance free....
On a healthy car you can reach not far off 500 ponnies.

996 3.6 Turbo GT2

462 hp std

550 hp

620 NM std

740 NM

No

No

Yes

If they are claiming 550BHP on a 996 GT2 with just a re-map they are talking utter bollcocks :floor: :hand:

Fit a miltek exhaust, K&N filter and get it remapped by Wayne at chipwizards or the guys at west tuning.

You will have about 470/480 BHP and no headache

I do think the figures stated were slightly high, however as I can now get it half price it means that I'd only have to folk out another £360 to have it mapped as well.

N44APA said:
I do think the figures stated were slightly high, however as I can now get it half price it means that I'd only have to folk out another £360 to have it mapped as well.

"slightly high"......... :grin: