Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

New purchase & first drive

wils

Hi newbie here;

Been lurking and using this great site to gather info. whilst trying to decide on a buying a 996 or 964 to join my Boxster S. Eventually I made up my mind and last weekend I spotted this 964 Targa 4 for sale;

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C336892#

Advised at £ 10K it Looked to good to be true; my favourite colour and one owner for a long time. High mileage true, but rebuilt engine/clutch and a very big service history. Spoke to the owner on Monday, who seemed a nice chap and gave me lots of info on the car/reason for selling.

I knew I had to move quickly so I got a flight over to the UK (I live in SW France) on Tuesday and had a viewing of the car & test drive. Fantastic! Original paint in reasonable condition so nothing hidden, small patch of rust by the filler cap but otherwise very clean and tidy.

I had already got a verbal report from JAZ that the car had been very well looked after (engine rebuilt etc. all by them). So I took a punt and and did a deal.

Left my parents house in Cheltenham at 6am yesterday morning and arrived home (near the French Pyrenees) at 11pm the same day; A total of 850 miles. The weather was terrible, torrential rain and standing water on the motorways, but the car didn't miss a beat, felt so solid and planted on the road. Now I know what you have all been talking about; The sound, the smell ...

As first drives go it wasn't the most scenic, but the car promises a lot of fun to come! Now just need to give her a very good clean and get all of the salt from the roads off!