Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

New 964 Owner with whistling fan and some questions

Alxd912

Silverstone
Hey,

So I am now the owner of my very 1st Porsch 1991 964 which has been a life long dream to own a 911 since I was a very young lad.

Anyhow its winter here in Finland so the car is tucked away in the garage till the snow goes away.

So to the subject in hand and please remember I am a total newbie so I may not give the right names for the parts but I have some questions.
1#
With the car ignition on but the engine not running a get a whistling or squeaking sound when I have the fan speed between 0 and 2 but above that it goes away. I will try and attach a link to the video.
https://youtu.be/K8slirWYzP8

I read some articles and I did remove the CCU and grease the fan there. But probably obvious to people in the know that it wouldn't fix it.
From where could the noise come from? I read that there are 2 blowers under the bonnet (Left and right) so if it is one of those, how would I find out which one is the culprit?
If it is one of those can those be stripped and fixed, eg of a bearing is worn out?

2#
The door pins have dropped and again I have read some articles, but one area I was not 100% sure was, do the hinges have those bushes (look brass coloured) and do those need replacing? If so is it easier to remove the whole door?
Also can the pin removal be made by hammer and a punch, or just leave it to a professional to do?

3#