Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Cheapest way to transform the 997.1 PSE?

joshkbaker

Silverstone
Hi Guys,
I'm about to buy a 997.1 C4S, it has the sports exhaust but after looking at some aftermarket ones. I found FABspeed's exhaust to sound unbelievable.
The problem is, a lot of these videos I found didn't really explain their setup properly. In some cases, they had just headers of the FABspeed but didn't mention other parts of their exhaust.

Any pointers, I'm new to this stuff and I know some of you are going to say, 'YOU HAVEN'T EVEN GOT THE CAR YET YOU MIGHT LOVE THE STOCK PSE'. I'm still curious at what cost to make the car sound close or exactly like the videos below.

Is it the case of just removing a small part but keeping the PSE in tact?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yw2bc3kQVH0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wncXU7A1KDA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7oLiuNvUFQ - A GT3 AND SHARKWERKS BUT IS IT POSSIBLE?

Thanks

Josh

X pipe and 200cel cats on the PSE would be my first port of call. PSE sounds great.

Robertb said:
X pipe and 200cel cats on the PSE would be my first port of call. PSE sounds great.

Thanks, could you clarify the X-pipe thing.
I see people doing this gundo hack that imitates the X pipe from the PSE? Is that correct or am I wrong. If that's the case, wouldn't the PSE already have an X pipe?

X pipe is completely different to the partial silencer bypass of the PSE/Gundo hack. It changes the routing of the exhaust flow after the silencers which changes the sound.