Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

996 Exhaust Sleeve Clamps

M84

Question for you seasoned 911 owners. I noticed something hanging out the rear of my car. It was one of the clamps around the exhaust sleeve. Having read a few posts on here, I see its a common problem.

I am not that experienced with DIY on cars. Done a bit, but my question is, do these sleeves come off easily? Do you just take off the old clamps, slip off the old sleeves and fit new ones? Or does it involve taking off large parts of the exhaust? Just want to know what I'm letting myself in for! Considering my limited spanner work.

I see Design 911 do Titanium ones. Tempting! :)

IMG_2290.jpg

IMG_2291.jpg

...you'll need to be able to slide the sleeves on thus will need to relax the exhaust enough to do this from memory and you've a slight coolant leak from the thermostat housing hose bud...

Reactions: M84
...you'll need to be able to slide the sleeves on thus will need to relax the exhaust enough to do this from memory and you've a slight coolant leak from the thermostat housing hose bud...
Thanks @GMG . I will give it a go!

Coolant leak, is that that pink stuff?

997 driver here but I did these on my car last year. I had to cut the original bolt across the thread (not much fun) and the sleeve was flexible enough to loosen and slip over the pipe itself. I then removed the bolt from the new ones and opened the sleeve to wrap it around the pipe before putting a fresh bolt in. Mine weren't as far gone as yours though. I went with the stainless steel clamps from Miltek.