Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Help with swapping plates.

Gav171073

Spa-Francorchamps
Hi there,

I need some advice about swapping a personal plate between a couple of cars. I've never done it before, so hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I have a personal plate on my wifes car (DE51RDE on a Toyota Avensis). I need to swap it onto a Mini Cooper S (58 plate) that I bought her last year, before we sell the Avensis.

I'm sure I need a suite of DVLA forms....anyone done this before?

Cheers.....Gav

It's dead easy, you can download the forms from DVLA.

They will NOT do it over the counter in your local branch. You can take the paperwork in and they will process it but you will only receive the docs in the post.

Common mistakes are not taking the correct documents. A lot of people take their Insurance schedule rather than certificate. It is funny to see them losing their temper with the staff because they haven't bothered to read it properly!

My wife used to work in the Maidstone office which is why I have a little more insight.

Right docs are the key and for BOTH vehicles. Personally, I would just do it by post these days as they are all done at Swansea now, plus it will save you the "tak a number" experience :D

Blobsta said:
It's dead easy, you can download the forms from DVLA.

They will NOT do it over the counter in your local branch. You can take the paperwork in and they will process it but you will only receive the docs in the post.

My local office was empty when I went there 5 months ago, probably
because they no longer do 'over counter service' anymore. They are