Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

New here, and with a new car

Welshie22

Hi all,

I'm new to Porsche's and this site (but not new to cars). I recently got married and my uncle in law has a Porsche 911 SC Targa in his dry garage where its sat for 10 years. I was able to look at it when my now wife took me to visit him for christmas.

I joked with him at my recent wedding about him using it, and he basically said if I was to come and fix it up I could have it, wow!

He said he pulled it off the road as it had an oil leak, and from what i've read that could be breather problems on these cars. Is that correct? It will be a while before I attack the car as I have another restoration to finish soon, but what other things should I look out for (besides the obvious) to get it running and roadworthy? Any particular weak points?

Thanks in advance

Bloody 'ell. Your missus got any sisters.......??

Welcome aboard and get some piccies up soon. :thumb:

Hah no she doesn't sorry. I'll try and get a pic up soon, in the meantime does anyone have any hints or tips?

Welcome! It is worth getting someone close to you who knows to look at it closely for rust! After that rust & again rust.

Change filters (Oil & gas/petrol), pull the plugs & replace if she has not been started for the time you say, then take the rotor out of the cap & on a fresh battery till you hopefully see the oil pressure rise on the gauge ( not a prolonged crank) then rotor cap back in & fire in the hole ! I used this method on mine & also on the new project (I had to pay for mine!)

Then 2 days of Porsche Paranoia Syndrome, then if you can drive it !