Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

New 997 advice needed....

Jason Langridge

This is my first post...

I was an M3 driver (please stop laughing) and since having our first son can't seem to shake off the need to have a fast car.....

I'm about to take the plunge (potentially) and buy a 997 Carerra 2S. A 911 has always been a dream car for me so I'm trying to buy with my head not just my heart.

I had a few questions which maybe this forum can help with:

1) Child Seat - my son is nearly 12 months old - realistically can I get him in the back... with what child seat? The porsche salesman told me yes so just checking.... (of course they are bound to say Yes)

2) Depreciation - I know Porsche's hold their value well.... am I expected to lose my shirt on this - what do you think it will be worth in 2-3 years with 30k miles on it?

3) Options - the car I'm looking at has Sat Nav, Bose, Sports Shift, Phone - are there other options I should make a must have

4) Colour - I'm looking at a silver car..... is this a good colour for resale (I do like Red too)

5) Servicing - what cost is the 10k/12k service?

Any help guidance really appreciated!

Migration info. Legacy thread was 71047

Jason - welcome - anyone who wants to discuss Porsches at 05:27 in the morning is alright in my book.

1)Child seat is a yes - there are a few options, all cheaper than the porsche one. Have a search though some of the older threads.

2) 3 year old C4Ss are going for between £40K and £45K at the moment (that's you selling them privately - not a dealer price). So you will lose a few quid