Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

my first Porsche!!

TerryNutkins

I'm extremely new to this game, having just bought a 993 c2. What a beauty!! Its made me realise that my last car (Scooby sti V4) could take any driver and make them look good. The Porsche, on the otherhand is far from forgiving ,and I am in the process of learning to drive again (but i'm having fun in the process!!!)

Its on an N plate so has got the six speed box. This may sound like a silly question, but what is the best way to drive it economically? i.e. what revs, when should I change up etc?? I'm amazed by the torque and ultimately find myself in the wrong gear! Acheiving just over 20mpg on its first tank, is a bit disappointing.

your help is appreciated!

Migration info. Legacy thread was 11497

Hi Terry,

First of all, welcome!!! You've obvioulsy bought an excellent car.

20 mpg might be quite good depending on the type of driving that you're doing. Is it in town? Motorway cruising? mixture?

Migration info. Legacy thread was 11499

thanks James,

its a stop start affair through various towns and villages, culminating in a wonderful arrival in Slough! I've only teased the throttle so far as I'm getting used to the car, also its been chucking it down and I'm getting to grips with a rear wheel car as opposed to this AWD nonsense!!

Migration info. Legacy thread was 11501

as it happens I have all my fingers intact, and most definately do not own an otter. Will a cat do?

Migration info. Legacy thread was 11503