Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Sound of trickling water

Schwaben

Silverstone
When it rains or has rained heavily I hear trickling water when driving more than 50mph. It is around the windscreen or A pillar on the driver's side. The car does not leak but this is irritating and costly as the indie are unable to work out the issue nor have encountered it previously. The windscreen seal is ok and they reglued the scuttle. As I'm new to the 997 is this normal, could it be the sound of water blowing under boot area where battery is? If not any ideas please. Thanks.

Interesting .. do you have a sunroof ?

The drain pipe for the roof goes behind the A pillar trim .. it's possible there is a blockage thats keep some water in there hence the noise ..

It's not standard that i'm aware of as i've never heard it before .

On Cayennes you can get water trapped in the sill due to blocked drains and a sloshing noise .. not seen it on a 997 though and its lower down than the A pillar.

the drain bungs are each side of the battery .. easy to see if blocked and i would certainly assume they have been checked to see if blocked .. i think i would tend to remove them just to be sure ... leaves a very nice hole that nothing will block .

DIY test .. masking tape around the windscreen seal .. just to rule out anything in that area but sunroof drain is my guess atm .. please don't tell me it doesn't have one as that would make me look bad :D