Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Get out of Gen 2 Carrea for Turbo?

Geezer 911

Silverstone
Morning guys,

I am in my 2nd year of 911 ownership (black gen Carrera 2 S PDk) and I have loved every minute of it.

The car has is my daily - driving to train station and is an all weekender.

I am having thought s about trading in for a Gen 2 Turbo PDK. Although this would be an amazing upgrade is it really worth getting out of a Carrera S for the type of driving I do? I be honest the car has not been tracked, there is not enough road in the my local area for this car to benefit its current capabilities apart from a couple nice B roads and short stretch of the M11 where there are no cameras...

The price jump for a turbo is obviously huge!Keen to hear some constructive thoughts.
:thumb:

If you don't get to use the acceleration a reasonabke amount of the time I would be tempted to stick with the Carrera. The throttle response will be better in the Carrera.

MC

Constructive thoughts eh?

Tick that box. Get a turbo, they're fekkin mental fast! You can always switch back if it doesn't work for you. And you won't take a bath :thumbs:

If the man maths works, do it :wink:

I've had exactly the same thoughts recently but decided to stick with my C2s for a while longer.

The cost to change worked out between £25-30k and I couldn't justify that for a car that would be almost identical when I sat in it and doesn't sound as good (imo) when the engine was running.

Obviously the turbo is unbelievably quick but I can't recall many occasions when I thought the C2s wasn't fast enough.