Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Cold Air Intakes

speedyleon

Just curious. Do cold air intakes like AFE really improve a vehicle's horsepower and fuel efficiency?

I am no scientist but as a teenager, I felt my motorcycle was far faster on damp misty nights..... whether it was or not...hmm..?

I was told that cold damp air raised the compression factor of the air/fuel mix a tad and that the fuel burned more efficiently in those conditions..

My fellow m/cyclists determined that I just thought I was going faster as the result of the reduced visibility.. (-:

Many years later, in a sweltering Italy in a bid to get more air flow around the engine I removed the trunking from the carb intakes that extended towards the outside "fresh" air in a bid to get more flow around the engine bay in the hope of aiding cooling, which was the priority as opposed to generating more power and HEAT...!! Jeez even put the heater on in the car to aid water cooling as much as I could...

So if you can find a gadget that creates cold misty air to mix with the fuel in the combustion chamber... you could be onto a winner... but you may need to generate more POWER to run it, kinda like running air con reduces MPG..?

My guess is that a simple matter of volumetric efficiency comes into the equation somewhere :?: