Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Cleaning your 996 - your process, hints and tips

CarreraMonkey

So a couple of people have asked me on various threads what my process is for washing and maintaining the paint on our cars, as I regularly post pictures of shiny cars after I've cleaned them.

I have to confess that I used to hate doing it and always went to the Eastern European guys (who knacker your paint generally), but I actually find it quite therapeutic nowadays. As I was doing a thorough job on Saturday, I decided to take a few pictures along the way. I'm not an expert at all, but I know stuff like claying, paint correction etc. can be daunting to some, so just want to show that if I can do it, anyone can.

The 1st place I'd look is in the detailing forum on this site. There's a great write up by a professional on how to wash your car. But there are also loads of tutorials and information on Youtube which are easy to watch and understand and will give you the main process which you can then improve with experience.

So my first step when cleaning a very dirty car or undertaking a thorough wash is to wet the car down with a jet washer to dislodge loose or caked on dirt, then cover from top to bottom and all over with snow foam.

Citrus snow foam if I'm stripping everything off anyway, or a ph neautral one if I'm not intending to re-apply wax this time.

I got the lance off ebay and was about £40 I think.

Apply the snowfoam
IMAG1383_zpsr0qpsaa9.jpg

leave it to dwell for 10 minutes, then rinse off. Hopefully, the foam will have lifted and secured a lot of the muck on the surface, meaning less to wash off the paint.