Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Winter lay-up routine, night night

Richard964

Hi,
So as the weather gets worst and winter arrives, I will get less and less opportunity to drive my 964. It will be spending the winter months in a garage, wrapped in its cover plugged into a trickle charger. My question is should I be doing anything else?
How long should I leave it before it causes me issues. Roll it out every two weeks?
As this is my first year any top tips would be welcome.

Many thanks

Put some extra pressure in the tyres to stop them flat spotting and remove the DME relay spinning the engine up to oil pressure every month or so to keep it all 'free'. Some people push them back and forwards but I personally don't have enough room in my tiny garage!

Spotted my first grit lorry this weekend, car now tucked away.......

ColinC said:
Put some extra pressure in the tyres to stop them flat spotting and remove the DME relay spinning the engine up to oil pressure every month or so to keep it all 'free'. Some people push them back and forwards but I personally don't have enough room in my tiny garage!

Spotted my first grit lorry this weekend, car now tucked away.......

Thanks Colin, so it shouldn't be to problematic to leave for 4wks at a time? A friend of mine put a Vw Corrado in his garage one winter and it's never been the same again. I've had him in my ear going on about static wear, think he's secretly got to me 😂

Nah.....most of the 993's on here never move!