Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Tyre advice/recommendations urgently required please

JonnyG

Silverstone
I'm in the process of buying a 2015 Boxster 981 GTS from an OPC. They are replacing all four tyres and have offered the option of either Pirelli or Continental. I asked for Michelin however they said the N rated rear tyres are not available from Michelin. I wanted Michelin because I think they are a little quieter and better in the wet than the Pirelli. I have no experience of Continental. Can anyone offer their opinion on Continental v Pirelli (or A N Other) or is their little to choose? Any advice or would be appreciated. Thanks

I have Continental N Rated tyres on my 996 - I would say they're 7 out of 10 across the board, certainly nothing to write home about. My experience of the higher end Pirellis is certainly more inspiring for a sports car but I haven't felt them on a decent 911 or Boxster.

I wouldn't get caught up on the N rated stuff. I only did because they were on a special offer and thought I'd give them a try.

Thanks Arry. Unfortunately OPCs will only supply N rated tyres and they will be paying for them!

I take it they are saying that they can't source the N0 rated Michelins PS4S in 265/35 R20 rather than them not being an option for your car.

My 981 GTS had Michelin PS4S all round so they are made.

I would say that both Continentals and Pirelli are both very much inferior to the PS4S, so possibly worth trying to source some for the OPC to buy.

Just get them to reduce the price you pay by £800 and sort the tyres yourself.